Getting there…

Hi all 🙂

Wow! when I entered today my blog I was very happy to get birthday congratulations from all over the world!! and in return I have a good news 🙂
Thanks to Nicolas Bishop’s advices I was able to solve some serious memory errors that prevented to implement Unlimited Clay with real-time  feedback as should be, here I show you a third video test with real-time update. Previously you had to wait to release the stroke to get the mesh subdivided, now is done as you sculpt!

Still not finished, I have to perform several optimizations because as Nicolas told me, the whole sculpt system is not geared toward dynamic topology, so I have to code that in a hostile environment 😛 But everyday I get more convinced that there’s nothing impossible in Blender 🙂

Cheers Farsthary

Getting there…

23 thoughts on “Getting there…

  1. Awesome!! This will be a very cool feature in the blender sculpt 🙂

    And… Happy birthday Raul!!! Happy birrthday to yoooouu haappy birthdayyy toooo yoooouuu!!! 😀

    Felicidades 😉

    Like

  2. Nik says:

    Now it’s getting more towards the actual thing! The “subsurf for cleaner mesh” is an interesting concept too. I also noticed that the added bits look like they have more proper triangulation now, but i may be wrong.

    Oh yeah, and happy birthday:)

    Like

  3. farsthary says:

    @Dim

    I use the Blender screen recording feature 🙂

    @FreeMind
    I think the Jwilkins branch has improved a lot brushes, I’m using the old system so I’m afraid is still the most problematic brush type

    Thanks to everyone 🙂

    Like

    1. FreeMind says:

      The problem here is that no matter how far i move a part of the model with the grab tool, the part gets subdivided only once.
      Which rezults in very Looooong quads, instead of many proportional triangles.

      Thank you for working on this. Good luck.

      Like

  4. This branch is fun, Farstary! Too bad I can’t build it on Windows. I’ve tried CMAKE+MSVC and MinGW+scons to no avail. Oh well, another reason to get Linux, I guess. Cheers and Happy Birthday.
    loopDuplicate

    Like

  5. SamCameron says:

    Awesome , now I just miss the feature to drag (or grab) a point and stretch where you want, is that feature from sculptris that I told you in other days. By the way, congratulations for your birthday.

    Like

  6. kmilo says:

    Felicidades atrasadas
    Espero que la hayas pasado bien y jejje ve aver si te pueden donar un aire que la pincha que estas tirando con las calores estas debe ser como pa volverse loco
    Saludos

    Like

  7. Michael W says:

    PS: I was initailly confused by the detail slider… I was expecting 0 to mean don’t add any and 1 to mean always add…

    perhaps inverting teh value or calling it “detail threshold” *might* be clearer?

    Like

  8. I definately agree with Michael W, since I find that confusing aswell – or rather think that the “detail threshold” idea is way easier to understand when you start using this slider.

    Like

  9. Joe says:

    Very cool. I also agree with the comments above on the Detail slider. I’d prefer to see the values inverted and kept as “Detail” just to give the text a faster read than “detail threshold”.

    Can’t wait to see how this develops!

    Like

Leave a Reply

