This is possible!

Hi guys! 🙂


Remember my old burned PSU? well, I’ve been using a PSU that a friend has borrowed me since then, but to my surprise a very generous sponsor contacted me a few weeks ago about the possibility of sending me a good quality PSU: with very little hope for an easy/fast solution to my situation I told him that he could try sending it via certificated shipment and I get ready for waiting several months… but, OMG!, this friday when I returned from my work my jaw dropped on the floor when I saw it has arrived!!
It was really fast, proven me that is very possible to receive such items without much issues :), the PSU is much more than I will ever need and the quality is something I have never seen 😉
THANKS A LOT!!!!

cheers to all Farsthary

This is possible!

12 thoughts on “This is possible!

  1. Lapinou says:

    I think an oversized PSU releases less heat (as efficiency increases when the load decreases) and thus avoids troubles caused by the overheating of the components (his last PSU died from that, very hot temperatures overthere)

    Like

  2. Moolah says:

    ( Sorry I posted to wrong place first 🙂 )

    Hi, Farsthary!

    I just wanted to warn you – be careful if you have also UPS with approximated sinusoidal output. I got my Hyper PSU burned because of this “little detail” and because that all Hyper’s PSU has Active Power Factor correction. I spent about three days before got to this theme.
    So it’s almost proved that PSUs with APFC can’t properly work with (mostly cheap) UPS with approximated sinus output.
    My PSU (HPU-4S435) worked three years with two (one UPS gone and I bought another) UPS blocks. And not so long time ago I got my PSU dead but thanks God – I quickly founded that it’s going to burn and turned off PC safely.
    So, be careful with this features!

    Like

      1. Moolah says:

        Just look for APC’s specs and search for sinus or approximated sinus (or something like that). I found on our electronic market a PSU without APFC – it was hard to find it and almost nobody (!) heard about APFC. So first I found it in Internet (that was not easy too). If can’t look for your UPS’s specs – I can find it, just tell me the name of the model.

        Like

    1. Moolah says:

      I got an interesting URL, when I searched for info about possible reasons of PSUs overheating. One of the “radio-freaks” (I mean those guys whose manually can fix some factory lacks in construcions of devices by own hands) adviced something (don’t remember exactly) like to make a “shunt” (I’m not familiar with fixing electronic schemes) with some transistor (also not sure that I remembered it properly) applying it to APFC throttle.
      By the way – my Hiper first got this APFC throttle overheated. All isolation on it’s coil was burned. I can place photos somewhere.
      On the same forums guys are discussing why it’s happening and possibly because of a small size of the throttle’s ring and (possibly) because of the bad material (ferrocart). Somebody told that “chinas” are save on materials ;-D Those guys recommend some hard named materials (russian possibly) and also made of Hi-Flux.
      http://rom.by/files/DSCF6174_cr.jpg – here is the APFC throttle in HiPro (I think that it’s not Hiper but it’s has no sense now). Look on the biggest “torus”.
      http://www.rom.by/files/DSCF6179.JPG – whole construction. Looks cheap BTW 🙂
      Oh! I found exact look of the burned throttle (it’s not my photo):

      It’s a complex thing tough. If you aren’t expecting troubles with electricity shotdowns often – then PSU will be working a long time. But if problems like these are often – it’s the case that is necessary to dig in seriously. The worst case – if you’ll leave a PC turned on alone for a long time and this APFC thing will start to overheating.

      Like

Leave a Reply

